When Vegan Really Isn’t

borrowed from various sources

In the world of nutrition and ingredients, things are not always what they seem. We are so used to seeing random ingredients on the labels of our foods that we don’t even pay too much attention to them anymore. Here are a few examples of ingredients that are not so vegan but are commonly found in everyday foods.

Casein (also Caseinate and Sodium Caseinate)
Casein is a milk protein. Milk is not vegan. It is found in a lot of soy products.

Gelatin
Gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments or bones of cows and pigs. Jello and marshmallow is generally made with gelatin. Some vitamin capsules are also made from gelatin.

Cochineal Dye, Carminic Acid or Natural Red 4
This is actually crushed female cochineal beetle. It makes a red dye that is used as food coloring and can be found anywhere from apple sauce to hard candy.

Whey
A milk protein. Whey is found just about everywhere including breads, cookies, etc.

Stearic Acid
Comes from animal fats and oils. Commonly used as a cheaper version of vanilla flavoring. Also found in beverages, candy and baked goods.

What about your skin care products?

Lanolin – excretion from wool bearing animals, used in many skin care products and cosmetics

Estrogen or Estradiol – extracted from the urine of pregnant mares

Retinol or Retinoids – found in animal sources such as liver, kidney, eggs and milk

Collagen – protein from animal tissue, sometimes bovine, sometimes fish

Hydroxy acid or elastin (a common ingredient in anti-aging creams)– snail slime

Keratin – derived from protein of ground up horns, hooves, quills and feathers of various animals

Shellac – obtained from the bodies of the female scale insect Tachardia lacca

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.